Home / Home / Champions List / L’Équipe World Champion of Champions

L’Équipe World Champion of Champions


L’Équipe (French for “the team”) is a French nationwide daily newspaper devoted to sports. The paper is noted for coverage of football (soccer), rugby, motorsports and cycling. Its ancestor was L’Auto, a general sports paper, whose name reflected not any narrow interest but the excitement of the time in car racing.

L’Auto originated the Tour de France cycling stage race in 1903 as a circulation booster. The race leader’s yellow jersey (maillot jaune) was instituted in 1919, probably to reflect the distinctive yellow newsprint on which L’Auto was published. The competition that would eventually become the UEFA Champions League was also the brainchild of a l’Equipe journalist, Gabriel Hanot.

L’Équipe Men’s Champion of Champions:

Year Winner Sport
2016 Usain Bolt (Jamaica) Athletics
2015 Usain Bolt (Jamaica) Athletics
2014 Renaud Lavillenie (France) Athletics
2013 Lionel Rafael Nadal (Spain) Tennis
2012 Usain Bolt (Jamaica) Athletics
2011 Lionel Messi (Argentina) Football
2010 Rafael Nadal (Spain) Tennis
2009 Usain Bolt (Jamaica) Athletics
2008 Usain Bolt (Jamaica) Athletics
2007 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Tennis
2006 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Tennis
2005 Roger Federer (Switzerland) Tennis
2004 Hicham El Guerrouj (Morocco) Athletics
2003 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula One
2002 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula One
2001 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula One
2000 Tiger Woods (USA) Golf
1999 Andre Agassi (USA) Tennis
1998 Zinedine Zidane (France) Football
1997 Sergey Bubka (Ukraine) Athletics
1996 Michael Johnson (USA) Athletics
1995 Jonathan Edwards (United Kingdom) Athletics
1994 Romario (Brazil) Football
1993 Noureddine Morceli (Algeria) Athletics
1992 Michael Jordan (USA) Basketball
1991 Carl Lewis (USA) Athletics
1990 Ayrton Senna (Brazil) Formula One
1989 Greg LeMond (USA) Cycling
1988 Florence Griffith-Joyner (USA) Athletics
1987 Ben Johnson * (Canada) Athletics
1986 Diego Maradona (Argentina) Football
1985 Sergey Bubka (Ukraine) Athletics
1984 Carl Lewis (USA) Athletics
1983 Carl Lewis (USA) Athletics
1982 Paolo Rossi (Italy) Football
1981 Sebastian Coe (United Kingdom) Athletics
1980 Eric Heiden (USA) Speed Skating
* Stripped of the title for doping scandal

L’Équipe Women’s Champion of Champions:

Year Winner Sport
2016 Simone Biles (USA) Gymnastics
2015 Serena Williams (Tennis) Tennis
2014 Katie Ledecky (USA) Swimming
2013 Serena Williams (Tennis) Tennis
2012 Serena Williams (Tennis) Tennis