NCAA Women’s Division I Basketball Champions

See a complete list of NCAA Women’s Division I Basketball Champions. The 2024 Championship game was played by the South Carolina Gamecocks and the Iowa Hawkeyes. South Carolina won the championship game 87-75 to earn their 3rd national title.

Fast Facts:

  • The NCAA Women’s Basketball Championships played its first season in 1981–82.
  • The two teams with the most NCAA Women’s titles are Connecticut (11) and Tennessee (8).

NCAA Women’s Basketball Division I Champions

YearChampion (record)CoachScoreRunner-upLocation
2024South Carolina (3, 3–0)Dawn Staley87–75IowaCleveland, OH
2023LSU(1, 1–0)Kim Mulkey102–85IowaDallas, TX
2022South Carolina (2, 2–0)Dawn Staley64–49UConnMinneapolis, MN
2021Stanford (5, 3–2)Tara VanDerveer54–53ArizonaSan Antonio, TX
2020Canceled due to Covid
2019Baylor (37-1)Kim Mulkey82-81Notre DameTampa, Fla.
2018Notre Dame (34-3)Muffet McGraw61-58Mississippi StateColumbus, Ohio
2017South Carolina (33-4)Dawn Staley67-55Mississippi StateDallas, Texas
2016Connecticut (38-0)Geno Auriemma82-51SyracuseIndianapolis, Ind.
2015Connecticut (38-1)Geno Auriemma63-53Notre DameTampa, Fla.
2014Connecticut (40-0)Geno Auriemma79-58Notre DameNashville, Tenn.
2013Connecticut (35-4)Geno Auriemma93-60LouisvilleNew Orleans, La.
2012Baylor (40-0)Kim Mulkey80-61Notre DameDenver, Colo.
2011Texas A&M (33-5)Gary Blair76-70Notre DameIndianapolis, Ind.
2010Connecticut (39-0)Geno Auriemma53-47StanfordSan Antonio, Texas
2009Connecticut (39-0)Geno Auriemma76-54LouisvilleSt. Louis, Mo.
2008Tennessee (36-2)Pat Summitt64-48StanfordTampa, Fla.
2007Tennessee (34-3)Pat Summitt59-46RutgersCleveland, Ohio
2006Maryland (34-4)Brenda Frese78-75 (OT)DukeBoston, Mass.
2005Baylor (33-3)Kim Mulkey84-62Michigan StateIndianapolis, Ind.
2004Connecticut (31-4)Geno Auriemma70-61TennesseeNew Orleans, La.
2003Connecticut (37-1)Geno Auriemma73-68TennesseeAtlanta, Ga.
2002Connecticut (39-0)Geno Auriemma82-70OklahomaSan Antonio, Texas
2001Notre Dame (34-2)Muffet McGraw68-66PurdueSt. Louis, Mo.
2000Connecticut (36-1)Geno Auriemma71-52TennesseePhiladelphia, Pa.
1999Purdue (34-1)Carolyn Peck62-45DukeSan Jose, Calif.
1998Tennessee (39-0)Pat Summitt93-75Louisiana TechKansas City, Mo.
1997Tennessee (29-10)Pat Summitt68-59Old DominionCincinnati, Ohio
1996Tennessee (32-4)Pat Summitt83-65GeorgiaCharlotte, N.C.
1995Connecticut (35-0)Geno Auriemma70-64TennesseeMinneapolis, Minn.
1994North Carolina (33-2)Sylvia Hatchell60-59Louisiana TechRichmond, Va.
1993Texas Tech (31-3)Marsha Sharp84-82Ohio StateAtlanta, Ga.
1992Stanford (30-3)Tara VanDerveer78-62Western KentuckyLos Angeles, Calif.
1991Tennessee (30-5)Pat Summitt70-67 (OT)VirginiaNew Orleans, La.
1990Stanford (32-1)Tara VanDerveer88-81AuburnKnoxville, Tenn.
1989Tennessee (35-2)Pat Summitt76-60AuburnTacoma, Wash.
1988Louisiana Tech (32-2)Leon Barmore56-54AuburnTacoma, Wash.
1987Tennessee (28-6)Pat Summitt67-44Louisiana TechAustin, Texas
1986Texas (34-0)Jody Conradt97-81Southern CaliforniaLexington, Ky.
1985Old Dominion (31-3)Marianne Stanley70-65GeorgiaAustin, Texas
1984Southern California (29-4)Linda Sharp72-61TennesseeLos Angeles, Calif.
1983Southern California (31-2)Linda Sharp69-67Louisiana TechNorfolk, Va.
1982Louisiana Tech (35-1)Sonja Hogg76-62CheyneyNorfolk, Va.
Back to top button