US Open

Men’s and Women’s US Open Tennis Champions

See a complete list of Men’s and Women’s US Open Tennis Champions. Novak Djokovic of Serbia and Coco Gauff of The United States respectively won the men’s and women’s singles 2023 US Open Tennis Championships.

Fast Facts:

  • The US Open Tennis Championships is the fourth and final Grand Slam of the tennis season.
  • Jimmy Connors, Pete Sampras and Roger Federer have all won the men’s single’s Championship five times.
  • Chris Evert and Serena Williams of the USA have won the most singles women’s titles at six each, followed by Steffi Graf of Germany with 5 titles.
  • The tournament is held annually in late August to early September and is played at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing Meadows, New York.

US Open Men’s and Women’s Tennis Champions:
(Open Era)

YearMen’s ChampionCountryWomen’s ChampionCountry
2023 Novak DjokovicSerbiaCoco GauffUSA
2022Carlos AlcarazSpainIga ŚwiątekPoland
2021Daniil MedvedevRussiaEmma RaducanuGreat Britain
2020Dominic ThiemAustriaNaomi OsakaJapan
2019Rafael NadalSpainBianca AndreescuCanada
2018Novak DjokovicSerbiaNaomi OsakaJapan
2017Rafael NadalSpainSloane StephensUSA
2016Stan WawrinkaSwitzerlandAngelique KerberGermany
2015Novak DjokovicSerbiaFlavia PennettaItaly
2014Marin ČilićCroatiaSerena WilliamsUSA
2013Rafael NadalSpainSerena WilliamsUSA
2012Andy MurrayUnited KingdomSerena WilliamsUSA
2011Novak DjokovicSerbiaSamantha StosurAustralia
2010Rafael NadalSpainKim ClijstersBelgium
2009Juan Martín del PotroArgentinaKim ClijstersBelgium
2008Roger FedererSwitzerlandSerena WilliamsUSA
2007Roger FedererSwitzerlandJustine HeninBelgium
2006Roger FedererSwitzerlandMaria SharapovaRussia
2005Roger FedererSwitzerlandKim ClijstersBelgium
2004Roger FedererSwitzerlandSvetlana KuznetsovaRussia
2003Andy RoddickUSAJustine HeninBelgium
2002Pete SamprasUSASerena WilliamsUSA
2001Lleyton HewittAustraliaVenus WilliamsUSA
2000Marat SafinRussiaVenus WilliamsUSA
1999Andre AgassiUSASerena WilliamsUSA
1998Patrick RafterAustraliaLindsay DavenportUSA
1997Patrick RafterAustraliaMartina HingisSwitzerland
1996Pete SamprasUSASteffi GrafGermany
1995Pete SamprasUSASteffi GrafGermany
1994Andre AgassiUSAArantxa Sánchez VicarioSpain
1993Pete SamprasUSASteffi GrafGermany
1992Stefan EdbergSwedenMonica SelešYugoslavia
1991Stefan EdbergSwedenMonica SelešYugoslavia
1990Pete SamprasUSAGabriela SabatiniArgentina
1989Boris BeckerGermanySteffi GrafGermany
1988Mats WilanderSwedenSteffi GrafGermany
1987Ivan LendlCzechoslovakiaMartina NavrátilováUSA
1986Ivan LendlCzechoslovakiaMartina NavrátilováUSA
1985Ivan LendlCzechoslovakiaHana MandlíkováCzechoslovakia
1984John McEnroeUSAMartina NavrátilováUSA
1983Jimmy ConnorsUSAMartina NavrátilováUSA
1982Jimmy ConnorsUSAChris EvertUSA
1981John McEnroeUSATracy AustinUSA
1980John McEnroeUSAChris EvertUSA
1979John McEnroeUSATracy AustinUSA
1978Jimmy ConnorsUSAChris EvertUSA
1977Guillermo VilasArgentinaChris EvertUSA
1976Jimmy ConnorsUSAChris EvertUSA
1975Manuel OrantesSpainChris EvertUSA
1974Jimmy ConnorsUSABillie Jean KingUSA
1973John NewcombeAustraliaMargaret CourtAustralia
1972Ilie NăstaseRomaniaBillie Jean KingUSA
1971Stan SmithUSABillie Jean KingUSA
1970Ken RosewallAustraliaMargaret CourtAustralia
1969Rod LaverAustraliaMargaret CourtAustralia
1968Arthur AsheUSAVirginia WadeUnited Kingdom
Back to top button