Home / Tennis / Tennis Grand Slam
Tennis Grand Slam

Tennis Grand Slam

Tennis Grand Slam tournaments also known as the Major’s, are part of four different annual tennis events. The Grand Slam schedule starts with the Australian Open, followed by the French Open, Wimbledon and ending with the US Open. These tennis tournaments are the most highly regarded in the sport sport for tradition, prize money, media and public attention.

The first Grand Slam of the year is the Australian Open. It takes place in mid January in Melbourne Australia. The Melbourne Park main courts for the tournament are the Rod Laver Arena, Hisense Arena and Margaret Court Arena. The tournament is played on a hard court surface.

Current Australian Open Champions
Roger Federer (SUI) (Men’s Singles)
Serena Williams (USA) (Women’s Singles)
Henri Kontinen (FIN) and John Peers (AUS) (Men’s Doubles)
Bethanie Mattek-Sands (USA) and Lucie Šafářová (CZE) (Women’s Doubles)
Abigail Spears (USA) and Juan Sebastián Cabal (COL) (Mixed Doubles)

The second Grand Slam is the French Open which is commonly referred to as the Roland Garros. It takes place between May and June in Paris, France at the Stade Roland Garros. The tournament is considered to be one of the most physically demanding due to the clay court surface it’s played on. It is the only one of the Major’s that is played on clay.

Current French Open Champions
Novak Djokovic (SRB) (Men’s Singles)
Garbiñe Muguruza (ESP (Women’s Singles)
Feliciano López (ESP) and Marc López (ESP) (Men’s Doubles)
Caroline Garcia (FRA) and Kristina Mladenovic (FRA) (Women’s Doubles)
Martina Hingis (SUI) and Leander Paes (IND) (Mixed Doubles)

The third Grand Slam is Wimbledon, it takes place between June and July in London, England at the All England Club. The tournament which is played on grass is one of the oldest tennis tournaments in the world. Wimbledon is the only one of the Major’s that is played on grass.

Current Wimbledon Champions
Andy Murray (GBR) (Men’s Singles)
Serena Williams (USA) (Women’s Singles)
Pierre-Hugues Herbert (FRA) and Nicolas Mahut (FRA) (Men’s Doubles)
Venus Williams (USA) and Serena Williams (USA) (Women’s Doubles)
Heather Watson (GBR) and Henri Kontinen (FIN) (Mixed Doubles)

The final Grand Slam on the annual tennis calendar is the US Open. The tournament takes place between August and September in Flushing Meadows, Queens, New York at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center. The hard court tournament main courts are the Arthur Ashe Stadium and Louis Armstrong Stadium.

Current US Open Champions
Stan Wawrinka (SUI) (Men’s Singles)
Angelique Kerber (GER) (Women’s Singles)
Jamie Murray (GBR) and Bruno Soares (BRA) (Men’s Doubles)
Bethanie Mattek-Sands (USA) and Lucie Šafářová (CZE) (Women’s Doubles)
Laura Siegemund (GER) and Mate Pavić (HRV) (Mixed Doubles)