French Open

French Open Men’s and Women’s Singles Champions

See a complete list of French Open Men’s and Women’s Singles Champions. The 2017 champions are Rafael Nadal of Spain and Ashleigh Barty of Australia This was Nadal’s eleventh French Open title and Barty’s first Singles Grand Slam title.

Fast Facts:

  • The French Open commonly referred to as the Roland Garros is a tennis tournament that is played at Stade Roland Garros in Paris, France.
  • Roland Garros is the only major tennis tournament played on Clay.
  • Rafael Nadal of Spain has won 10 French Open titles which is the most of any other man.
  • Before the Open Era, Max Decugis of France won 8 French Open’s.
  • Chris Evert of the United States has won the French Open 7 times, which is the most of any other woman.
  • Steffi Graf of Germany and Suzanne Lenglen (Amateur Era) have each won 6 French Open titles.

French Open Men’s and Women’s Singles Champions:

YearMen’s WinnerWomen’s Winner
2019Rafael Nadal (ESP) Ashleigh Barty (AUS)
2018 Rafael Nadal (ESP) Simona Halep(ROU)
2017Rafael Nadal (ESP) Jeļena Ostapenk (LTV)
2016 Novak Djokovic (SRB) Garbiñe Muguruza (ESP)
2015Stan Wawrinka (SUI) Serena Williams (USA)
2014 Rafael Nadal (ESP) Maria Sharapova (RUS)
2013 Rafael Nadal (ESP) Serena Williams (USA)
2012 Rafael Nadal (ESP) Maria Sharapova (RUS)
2011 Rafael Nadal (ESP) Na Li (CHN)
2010 Rafael Nadal (ESP) Francesca Schiavone (ITA)
2009 Roger Federer (SUI) Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS)
2008 Rafael Nadal (ESP) Ana Ivanovic (SER)
2007 Rafael Nadal (ESP) Justine Henin (BEL)
2006 Rafael Nadal (ESP) Justine Henin-Hardenne (BEL)
2005 Rafael Nadal (ESP) Justine Henin-Hardenne (BEL)
2004 Gaston Gaudio (ARG) Anastasia Myskina (RUS)
2003 Juan Carlos Ferrero (ESP) Justine Hénin-Hardenne (BEL)
2002 Albert Costa (ESP) Serena Williams (USA)
2001 Gustavo Kuerten (BRA) Jennifer Capriati (USA)
2000 Gustavo Kuerten (BRA) Mary Pierce (FRA)
1999 Andre Agassi (USA) Steffi Graf (GER)
1998 Carlos Moya (ESP) Arantxa Sanchez (ESP)
1997 Gustavo Kuerten (BRA) Iva Majoli (CRO)
1996 Yevgeny Kafelnikov (RUS) Steffi Graf (GER)
1995 Thomas Muster (AUT) Steffi Graf (GER)
1994 Sergi Bruguera (ESP) Arantxa Sanchez (ESP)
1993 Sergi Bruguera (ESP) Steffi Graf (GER)
1992 Jim Courier (USA) Monica Seles (YUG)
1991 Jim Courier (USA) Monica Seles (YUG)
1990 Andres Gomez (ECU) Monica Seles (YUG)
1989 Michael Chang (USA) Arantxa Sanchez (ESP)
1988 Mats Wilander (SWE) Steffi Graf (GER)
1987 Ivan Lendl (CZE) Steffi Graf (GER)
1986 Ivan Lendl (CZE) Chris Evert-Lloyd (USA)
1985 Mats Wilander (SWE) Chris Evert-Lloyd (USA)
1984 Ivan Lendl (CZE) Martina Navratilova (USA)
1983 Yannick Noah (FRA) Chris Evert-Lloyd (USA)
1982 Mats Wilander (SWE) Martina Navratilova (USA)
1981 Björn Borg (SWE) Hana Mandlikova (CZE)
1980 Björn Borg (SWE) Chris Evert-Lloyd (USA)
1979 Björn Borg (SWE) Chris Evert-Lloyd (USA)
1978 Björn Borg (SWE) Virginia Ruzici (ROM)
1977 Guillermo Vilas (ARG) Mima Jausovec (YUG)
1976 Adriano Panatta (ITA) Sue Barker (GBR)
1975 Björn Borg (SWE) Chris Evert (USA)
1974 Björn Borg (SWE) Chris Evert (USA)
1973 Ilie Nastase (ROM) Margaret Smith-Court (AUS)
1972 Andres Gimeno (ESP) Billie-Jean King (USA)
1971 Jan Kodes (CZE) Evonne Goolagong (AUS)
1970 Jan Kodes (CZE) Margaret Smith-Court (AUS)
1969 Rod Laver (AUS) Margaret Smith-Court (AUS)
1968 Ken Rosewall (AUS) Nancy Richey (USA)
1967 Roy Emerson (AUS) Françoise Dürr (FRA)
1966 Tony Roche (AUS) Ann Haydon-Jones (GBR)
1965 Fred Stolle (AUS) Lesley Turner (AUS)
1964 Manuel Santana (ESP) Margaret Smith (AUS)
1963 Roy Emerson (AUS) Lesley Turner (AUS)
1962 Rod Laver (AUS) Margaret Smith (AUS)
1961 Manuel Santana (ESP) Ann Haydon (GBR)
1960 Nicola Pietrangeli (ITA) Darlene Hard (USA)
1959 Nicola Pietrangeli (ITA) Christine Truman (GBR)
1958 Mervyn Rose (AUS) Zsuzsi Kormoczy (HUN)
1957 Sven Davidson (SWE) Shirley Bloomer (GBR)
1956 Lewis Hoad (AUS) Althea Gibson (USA)
1955 Tony Trabert (USA) Angela Mortimer (GBR)
1954 Tony Trabert (USA) Maureen Connolly (USA)
1953 Ken Rosewall (AUS) Maureen Connolly (USA)
1952 Jaroslav Drobny (CZE) Doris Hart (USA)
1951 Jaroslav Drobny (CZE) Shirley Fry (USA)
1950 Budge Patty (USA) Doris Hart (USA)
1949 Frank Parker (USA) M. Osborne-Dupont (USA)
1948 Frank Parker (USA) Nelly Landry (FRA)
1947 Jozsef Asboth (HUN) Patricia Todd (USA)
1946 Marcel Bernard (FRA) Margaret Osborne (USA)
1939 William McNeill (USA) Simone Mathieu (FRA)
1938 Donald Budge (USA) Simone Mathieu (FRA)
1937 Henner Henkel (GER) Hilde Sperling (GER)
1936 Gottfried Von Cramm (GER) Hilde Sperling (GER)
1935 Fred Perry (GBR) Hilde Sperling (GER)
1934 Gottfried Von Cramm (GER) Margaret Scriven (GBR)
1933 John Crawford (AUS) Margaret Scriven (GBR)
1932 Henri Cochet (FRA) Helen Wills-Moody (USA)
1931 Jean Borotra (FRA) Cilly Aussem (GER)
1930 Henri Cochet (FRA) Helen Wills-Moody (USA)
1929 René Lacoste (FRA) Helen Wills (USA)
1928 Henri Cochet (FRA) Helen Wills (USA)
1927 René Lacoste (FRA) Kornelia Bouman (NED)
1926 Henri Cochet (FRA) Suzanne Lenglen (FRA)
1925 René Lacoste (FRA) Suzanne Lenglen (FRA)
1924 Jean Borotra (FRA) Diddie Vlasto (FRA)
1923 François Blanchy (FRA) Suzanne Lenglen (FRA)
1922 Henri Cochet (FRA) Suzanne Lenglen (FRA)
1921 Jean Samazeuilh (FRA) Suzanne Lenglen (FRA)
1920 André Gobert (FRA) Suzanne Lenglen (FRA)
1914 Max Decugis (FRA) Marguerite Broquedis (FRA)
1913 Max Decugis (FRA) Marguerite Broquedis (FRA)
1912 Max Decugis (FRA) Jeanne Matthey (FRA)
1911 André Gobert (FRA) Jeanne Matthey (FRA)
1910 Maurice Germot (FRA) Jeanne Matthey (FRA)
1909 Max Decugis (FRA) Jeanne Matthey (FRA)
1908 Max Decugis (FRA) Kate Gillou-Fenwick (FRA)
1907 Max Decugis (FRA) Comtesse de Kermel (FRA)
1906 Maurice Germot (FRA) Kate Gillou-Fenwick (FRA)
1905 Maurice Germot (FRA) Kate Gillou (FRA)
1904 Max Decugis (FRA) Kate Gillou (FRA)
1903 Max Decugis (FRA) F. Masson (FRA)
1902 Marcel Vacherot (FRA) F. Masson (FRA)
1901 André Vacherot (FRA) P. Girod (FRA)
1900 Paul Aymé (FRA) Y. Prévost (FRA)
1899 Paul Aymé (FRA) F. Masson (FRA)
1898 Paul Aymé (FRA) F. Masson (FRA)
1897 Paul Aymé (FRA) F. Masson (FRA)
1896 André Vacherot (FRA)
1895 André Vacherot (FRA)
1894 André Vacherot (FRA)
1893 L. Riboulet (FRA)
1892 J. Schopfer (FRA)
1891 H. Briggs (GBR)
Back to top button