More Sports

L’Équipe World Champion of Champions

See a list of Men’s and Women’s L’Équipe World Champions. Formula One race car driver Lewis Hamilton of the United Kingdom and Biathlon’s Marte Olsbu Roeiseland of Norway hold the title of L’Équipe World Champion in 2020.

Fast Facts:

  • L’Équipe, is a French nationwide daily newspaper devoted to sports. The paper is noted for coverage of football (soccer), rugby, motorsports and cycling. Its ancestor was L’Auto, a general sports paper, whose name reflected not any narrow interest but the excitement of the time in car racing.
  • L’Auto originated the Tour de France cycling stage race in 1903 as a circulation booster. The race leader’s yellow jersey (maillot jaune) was instituted in 1919, probably to reflect the distinctive yellow newsprint on which L’Auto was published. The competition that would eventually become the UEFA Champions League was also the brainchild of a l’Equipe journalist, Gabriel Hanot.

L’Équipe Men’s Champion of Champions:

2020Lewis Hamilton (United Kingdom)Formula One
2019Rafael Nadal (Spain)Tennis
2018Marcel Hirscher (Austria)Alpine Skiing
2017Rafael Nadal & Roger Federer (Spain/Switzerland)Tennis
2016Usain Bolt (Jamaica)Athletics
2015Usain Bolt (Jamaica)Athletics
2014Renaud Lavillenie (France)Athletics
2013Lionel Rafael Nadal (Spain)Tennis
2012Usain Bolt (Jamaica)Athletics
2011Lionel Messi (Argentina)Football
2010Rafael Nadal (Spain)Tennis
2009Usain Bolt (Jamaica)Athletics
2008Usain Bolt (Jamaica)Athletics
2007Roger Federer (Switzerland)Tennis
2006Roger Federer (Switzerland)Tennis
2005Roger Federer (Switzerland)Tennis
2004Hicham El Guerrouj (Morocco)Athletics
2003Michael Schumacher (Germany)Formula One
2002Michael Schumacher (Germany)Formula One
2001Michael Schumacher (Germany)Formula One
2000Tiger Woods (USA)Golf
1999Andre Agassi (USA)Tennis
1998Zinedine Zidane (France)Football
1997Sergey Bubka (Ukraine)Athletics
1996Michael Johnson (USA)Athletics
1995Jonathan Edwards (United Kingdom)Athletics
1994Romario (Brazil)Football
1993Noureddine Morceli (Algeria)Athletics
1992Michael Jordan (USA)Basketball
1991Carl Lewis (USA)Athletics
1990Ayrton Senna (Brazil)Formula One
1989Greg LeMond (USA)Cycling
1988Florence Griffith-Joyner (USA)Athletics
1987Ben Johnson * (Canada)Athletics
1986Diego Maradona (Argentina)Football
1985Sergey Bubka (Ukraine)Athletics
1984Carl Lewis (USA)Athletics
1983Carl Lewis (USA)Athletics
1982Paolo Rossi (Italy)Football
1981Sebastian Coe (United Kingdom)Athletics
1980Eric Heiden (USA)Speed Skating
* Stripped of the title for doping scandal

L’Équipe Women’s Champion of Champions:

2020Marte Olsbu Roeiseland (Norway)Biathlons
2019Simone Biles (USA)Gymnastics
2018Simone Biles (USA)Gymnastics
2017Katie Ledecky (USA)Swimming
2016Simone Biles (USA)Gymnastics
2015Serena Williams (Tennis)Tennis
2014Katie Ledecky (USA)Swimming
2013Serena Williams (Tennis)Tennis
2012Serena Williams (Tennis)Tennis
Back to top button