Home / Home / Champions List / Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award


Every year the National Football League honors a distinguishable player with the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award. This award is presented to an NFL player that has shown an exemplary effort to give back to the community through charity and volunteer work and their excellent skills on the field.

Fast Facts:

  • The Award is given away the day before the Super Bowl.
  • Award recipients are selected from each one of the 32 NFL teams.
  • The Man of the Year receives a $500,000 donation to be used for the charity of his choice.
  • The Chicago Bears and Kansas City Chiefs have had 5 winners which is the most of any other teams.
Year Player Position Team
2016 Eli Manning Quarterback New York Giants
2016 Larry Fitzgerald Wide receiver Arizona Cardinals
2015 Anquan Boldin Wide receiver San Francisco 49ers
2014 Thomas Davis Linebacker Carolina Panthers
2013 Charles Tillman Cornerback Chicago Bears
2012 Jason Witten Tight end Dallas Cowboys
2011 Matt Birk Center Baltimore Ravens
2010 Madieu Williams Safety Minnesota Vikings
2009 Brian Waters Guard Kansas City Chiefs
2008 Kurt Warner Quarterback Arizona Cardinals
2007 Jason Taylor Defensive end Miami Dolphins
2006 Drew Brees Quarterback New Orleans Saints
2006 LaDainian Tomlinson Running back San Diego Chargers
2005 Peyton Manning Quarterback Indianapolis Colts
2004 Warrick Dunn Running back Atlanta Falcons
2003 Will Shields Guard Kansas City Chiefs
2002 Troy Vincent Cornerback Philadelphia Eagles
2001 Jerome Bettis Running back Pittsburgh Steelers
2000 Derrick Brooks Linebacker Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2000 Jim Flanigan Defensive Line Chicago Bears
1999 Cris Carter Wide receiver Minnesota Vikings
1998 Dan Marino Quarterback Miami Dolphins
1997 Troy Aikman Quarterback Dallas Cowboys
1996 Darrell Green Cornerback Washington Redskins
1995 Boomer Esiason Quarterback New York Jets
1994 Junior Seau Linebacker San Diego Chargers
1993 Derrick Thomas Linebacker Kansas City Chiefs
1992 John Elway Quarterback Denver Broncos
1991 Anthony Muñoz Tackle Cincinnati Bengals
1990 Mike Singletary Linebacker Chicago Bears
1989 Warren Moon Quarterback Houston Oilers
1988 Steve Largent Wide receiver Seattle Seahawks
1987 Dave Duerson Safety Chicago Bears
1986 Reggie Williams Linebacker Cincinnati Bengals
1985 Dwight Stephenson Center Miami Dolphins
1984 Marty Lyons Defensive tackle New York Jets
1983 Rolf Benirschke Placekicker San Diego Chargers
1982 Joe Theismann Quarterback Washington Redskins
1981 Lynn Swann Wide receiver Pittsburgh Steelers
1980 Harold Carmichael Wide receiver Philadelphia Eagles
1979 Joe Greene Defensive lineman Pittsburgh Steelers
1978 Roger Staubach Quarterback Dallas Cowboys
1977 Walter Payton Running back Chicago Bears
1976 Franco Harris Running back Pittsburgh Steelers
1975 Ken Anderson Quarterback Cincinnati Bengals
1974 George Blanda Quarterback Oakland Raiders
1973 Len Dawson Quarterback Kansas City Chiefs
1972 Willie Lanier Linebacker Kansas City Chiefs
1971 John Hadl Quarterback San Diego Chargers
1970 Johnny Unitas Quarterback Baltimore Colts