ITF Women’s and Men’s World Champions

See a complete list of ITF Women’s and Men’s World Champions. The 2019 ITF Champions are Ashleigh Barty of Australia and Rafael Nadal of Spain.

Fast Facts:

  • Pete Sampras (USA) and Serena Williams (USA) hold the most ITF titles for the men’s and women’s divisions.
  • The first woman to win the ITF World Championships was Chris Evert in 1978.
  • Novak Djokovic is one of only four men to be named World Champion five or more times, alongside Ivan Lendl, Pete Sampras and Roger Federer.
  • Since 1978, the International Tennis Federation (ITF) has designated a “World Champion” each year based on performances throughout the year, including Grand Slam tournaments, the ATP World Tour Finals, the Davis Cup, and weekly tour events.

Men’s and Women’s ITF World Champions:

YearMen’s ChampionWomen’s Champion
2019Rafael Nadal (4)Ashleigh Barty
2018Novak Djokovic (6)Simona Halep
2017Rafael Nadal (3)Garbiñe Muguruza
2016Andy MurrayAngelique Kerber
2015Novak Djokovic (5)Serena Williams (6)
2014Novak Djokovic (4)Serena Williams (5)
2013Novak Djokovic (3)Serena Williams (4)
2012Novak Djokovic (2)Serena Williams (3)
2011Novak DjokovicPetra Kvitová
2010Rafael Nadal (2)Caroline Wozniacki
2009Roger Federer (5)Serena Williams (2)
2008Rafael NadalJelena Janković
2007Roger Federer (4)Justine Henin (3)
2006Roger Federer (3)Justine Henin (2)
2005Roger Federer (2)Kim Clijsters
2004Roger FedererAnastasia Myskina
2003Andy RoddickJustine Henin
2002Lleyton Hewitt (2)Serena Williams
2001Lleyton HewittJennifer Capriati
2000Gustavo KuertenMartina Hingis (3)
1999Andre AgassiMartina Hingis (2)
1998Pete Sampras (6)Lindsay Davenport
1997Pete Sampras (5)Martina Hingis
1996Pete Sampras (4)Steffi Graf (7)
1995Pete Sampras (3)Steffi Graf (6)
1994Pete Sampras (2)Arantxa Sánchez Vicario
1993Pete SamprasSteffi Graf (5)
1992Jim CourierMonica Seles (2)
1991Stefan EdbergMonica Seles
1990Ivan Lendl (4)Steffi Graf (4)
1989Boris BeckerSteffi Graf (3)
1988Mats WilanderSteffi Graf (2)
1987Ivan Lendl (3)Steffi Graf
1986Ivan Lendl (2)Martina Navratilova (6)
1985Ivan LendlMartina Navratilova (5)
1984John McEnroe (3)Martina Navratilova (4)
1983John McEnroe (2)Martina Navratilova (3)
1982Jimmy ConnorsMartina Navratilova (2)
1981John McEnroeChris Evert (3)
1980Björn Borg (3)Chris Evert (2)
1979Björn Borg (2)Martina Navratilova
1978Björn BorgChris Evert
Back to top button