NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Drivers Champions

See a complete list of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Drivers Champions. Chase Elliott won the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series. This was his first title.

Fast Facts:

  • The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Drivers‘ Championship is awarded by the chairman of NASCAR to the most successful Sprint Cup Series racing car driver over a season, as determined by a points system based on race results.
  • 34 different drivers have won the Championship, with Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt holding the record for most titles at seven.
  • Jimmie Johnson won five races in a row from 2006 to 2010 and again in 2013 earning him the title as the most successful driver to win consecutive Championships.
  • The auto manufacturer Chevrolet has the most championship wins with thirty-nine.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champions:

2020Chase Elliott (1)Chevrolet
2019Kyle Busch (2)Toyota
2018Joey LoganoFord
2017Martin Truex Jr.Toyota
2016Jimmie Johnson (7)Chevrolet
2015Kyle BuschToyota
2014Kevin HarvickChevrolet
2013Jimmie Johnson (6)Chevrolet
2012Brad KeselowskiDodge Charger
2011Tony Stewart (3)Chevrolet Impala
2010Jimmie Johnson (5)Chevrolet Impala
2009Jimmie Johnson (4)Chevrolet Impala SS
2008Jimmie Johnson (3)Chevrolet Impala SS
2007Jimmie Johnson (2)Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS/Chevrolet Impala SS
2006Jimmie JohnsonChevrolet Monte Carlo SS
2005Tony Stewart (2)Chevrolet Monte Carlo
2004Kurt BuschFord Taurus
2003Matt KensethFord Taurus
2002Tony StewartPontiac Grand Prix
2001Jeff Gordon (4)Chevrolet Monte Carlo
2000Bobby LabontePontiac Grand Prix
1999Dale JarrettFord Taurus
1998Jeff Gordon (3)Chevrolet Monte Carlo
1997Jeff Gordon (2)Chevrolet Monte Carlo
1996Terry Labonte (2)Chevrolet Monte Carlo
1995Jeff GordonChevrolet Monte Carlo
1994Dale Earnhardt (7)Chevrolet Lumina
1993Dale Earnhardt (6)Chevrolet Lumina
1992Alan KulwickiFord Thunderbird
1991Dale Earnhardt (5)Chevrolet Lumina
1990Dale Earnhardt (4)Chevrolet Lumina
1989Rusty WallacePontiac Grand Prix
1988Bill ElliottFord Thunderbird
1987Dale Earnhardt (3)Chevrolet Monte Carlo
1986Dale Earnhardt (2)Chevrolet Monte Carlo
1985Darrell Waltrip (3)Chevrolet Monte Carlo
1984Terry LabonteChevrolet Monte Carlo
1983Bobby AllisonBuick Regal
1982Darrell Waltrip (2)Buick Regal
1981Darrell WaltripBuick Regal
1980Dale EarnhardtChevrolet Monte Carlo
1979Richard Petty (7)Chevrolet Monte Carlo
1978Cale Yarborough (3)Oldsmobile Cutlass
1977Cale Yarborough (2)Chevrolet Malibu
1976Cale YarboroughChevrolet Chevelle
1975Richard Petty (6)Dodge Charger
1974Richard Petty (5)Dodge Charger
1973Benny ParsonsChevrolet Chevelle
1972Richard Petty (4)Plymouth Satellite
1971Richard Petty (3)Plymouth Satellite
1970Bobby IsaacDodge Charger
1969David Pearson (3)Ford Torino
1968David Pearson (2)Ford Torino
1967Richard Petty (2)Plymouth Sport Fury
1966David PearsonDodge Charger
1965Ned Jarrett (2)Ford Galaxie
1964Richard PettyPlymouth Sport Fury
1963Joe Weatherly (2)Pontiac
1962Joe WeatherlyPontiac
1961Ned JarrettChevrolet Impala
1960Rex WhiteChevrolet Impala
1959Lee Petty (3)Plymouth
1958Lee Petty (2)Oldsmobile
1957Buck Baker (2)Chevrolet
1956Buck BakerChrysler 300
1955Tim Flock (2)Chrysler 300
1954Lee PettyChrysler New Yorker
1953Herb Thomas (2)Hudson Hornet
1952Tim FlockHudson Hornet
1951Herb ThomasHudson Hornet
1950Bill RexfordOldsmobile
1949Red ByronOldsmobile
Back to top button