Division I NCAA Women’s Volleyball Champions

See a complete list of Division I NCAA Women’s Volleyball Champions. The 2020 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Champions is Kentucky. They beat Texas to claim their 1st National title. This was Coach Craig Skinner’s first title.

Fast Facts:

  • NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball is the highest level of competition in U.S. College sports.
  • Only 10 teams have won the National title in 31 years.
  • Texas and Washington have each won the title once, while eight other teams that include, Stanford, Penn State, UCLA, Hawaii, Long Beach State, Nebraska, Southern California and Pacific have each won at least two titles
  • The 2021 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Tournament will take place at the Nationwide Arena in
    Columbus, Ohio.

NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Champions:

YearChampion (Record)ScoreRunner-UpCoachLocation
2020Kentucky (24–1)3-1TexasCraig SkinnerOmaha, Nebraska
2019Stanford (9) (30–4)3-0WisconsinKevin HamblyPittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2018Stanford (8) (34–1)3-2NebraskaKevin HamblyMinneapolis, Minnesota
2017Nebraska (5) (33–4)3-1FloridaJohn CookKansas City, Missouri
2016Stanford (7) (27–7)3-0TexasJohn DunningColumbus, Ohio
2015Nebraska (4) (32–4)3-0TexasJohn CookOmaha, Nebraska
2014Penn State (7) (36–3)3-0BYURuss RoseOklahoma City, OK
2013Penn State (7) (36–3)3-1WisconsinRuss RoseSeattle, Washington
2012Texas (28-4)3-0OregonJerritt ElliottLouisville, KY
2011UCLA (29-6)3-1IllinoisMichael SealySan Antonio, Texas
2010Penn State (32-5)3-0CaliforniaRuss RoseUMKC
2009Penn State (38-0)3-2TexasRuss RoseSouth Florida
2008Penn State (38-0)3-0StanfordRuss RoseNebraska
2007Penn State (34-2)3-2StanfordRuss RoseSacramento State
2006Nebraska (33-1)3-1StanfordJohn CookNebraska
2005Washington (32-1)3-0NebraskaJim McLaughlinUTSA
2004Stanford (30-6)3-0MinnesotaJohn DunningLong Beach State
2003Southern California (35-0)3-1FloridaMick HaleyDallas
2002Southern California (31-1)3-1StanfordMick HaleyNew Orleans
2001Stanford (33-2)3-0Long Beach StateJohn DunningSan Diego State
2000Nebraska (34-0)3-2WisconsinJohn CookVCU
1999Penn State (36-1)3-0StanfordRuss RoseHawaii
1998Long Beach State (36-0)3-2Penn StateBrian GimmillaroWisconsin
1997Stanford (33-2)3-2Penn StateDon ShawWashington State
1996Stanford (31-2)3-0HawaiiDon ShawCleveland State
1995Nebraska (32-1)3-1TexasTerry PettitMassachusetts
1994Stanford (31-2)3-1UCLADon ShawTexas
1993Long Beach State (32-2)3-1Penn StateBrian GimmillaroWisconsin
1992Stanford (31-2)3-1UCLADon ShawNew Mexico
1991UCLA (31-5)3-2Long Beach StateAndy BanachowskiUCLA
1990UCLA (36-1)3-0PacificAndy BanachowskiMaryland
1989Long Beach State (32-5)3-0NebraskaBrian GimmillaroHawaii
1988Texas (34-5)3-0HawaiiMick HaleyMinnesota
1987Hawaii (37-2)3-1StanfordDave ShojiIndianapolis
1986Pacific (39-3)3-0NebraskaJohn DunningPacific
1985Pacific (36-3)3-1StanfordJohn DunningWestern Michigan
1984UCLA (33-6)3-2StanfordAndy BanachowskiUCLA
1983Hawaii (34-2)3-0UCLADave ShojiKentucky
1982Hawaii (33-1)3-2Southern CaliforniaDave ShojiPacific
1981Southern California (27-10)3-2UCLAChuck ErbeUCLA
Back to top button