Horse Racing

Triple Crown Of Thoroughbred Racing

The Triple Crown Of Thoroughbred Racing also referred to as the Triple Crown, is comprised of three races for three-year-old Thoroughbred horses. The first leg of the Triple Crown is the Kentucky Derby. The second leg is the Preakness Stakes followed by the Belmont Stakes. Only thirteen horses have won all three races in a single year to earn the prestigious title of the Triple Crown. The last horse to win was Justify in 2018.

About Each Race

  • The Kentucky Derby takes place on the first Saturday in May and is raced at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. It’s run on a 1 1⁄4-mile dirt track.
  • The Preakness Stakes is held on the third Saturday in May and is raced at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland. It is run on a 1 3⁄16-mile dirt track.
  • The Belmont Stakes takes place in June and is raced at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York. It’s run on a 1 1⁄2-mile dirt track which is the longest race in U.S. thoroughbred racing.

Winners of The Triple Crown

2018JustifyMike E. SmithBob BaffertChina Horse Club, Head of Plains Partners, Starlight Racing, WinStar Farm
2015American PharoahVictor EspinozaBob BaffertAhmed Zayat
1978AffirmedSteve CauthenLaz BarreraHarbor View Farm
1977Seattle SlewJean CruguetWilliam H. Turner, Jr.Mickey and Karen L. Taylor,
Tayhill Stable/Jim Hill, et al.
1973SecretariatRon TurcotteLucien LaurinMeadow Stable
1948CitationEddie ArcaroHorace A. JonesCalumet Farm
1946AssaultWarren MehrtensMax HirschKing Ranch
1943Count FleetJohnny LongdenDon CameronFannie Hertz
1941WhirlawayEddie ArcaroBen A. JonesCalumet Farm
1937War AdmiralCharley KurtsingerGeorge H. ConwaySamuel D. Riddle
1935OmahaWillie SaundersJim FitzsimmonsBelair Stud
1930Gallant FoxEarl SandeJim FitzsimmonsBelair Stud
1919Sir BartonJohnny LoftusH. Guy BedwellJ. K. L. Ross
Back to top button