Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award

Every year the National Football League honors a distinguishable player with the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award. This award is presented to an NFL player that has shown an exemplary effort to give back to the community through charity and volunteer work and their excellent skills on the field.

Fast Facts:

  • The Award is given away the day before the Super Bowl.
  • Award recipients are selected from each one of the 32 NFL teams.
  • The Man of the Year receives a $500,000 donation to be used for the charity of his choice.
  • The Chicago Bears and Kansas City Chiefs have had 5 winners which is the most of any other teams.
2016Eli ManningQuarterbackNew York Giants
2016Larry FitzgeraldWide receiverArizona Cardinals
2015Anquan BoldinWide receiverSan Francisco 49ers
2014Thomas DavisLinebackerCarolina Panthers
2013Charles TillmanCornerbackChicago Bears
2012Jason WittenTight endDallas Cowboys
2011Matt BirkCenterBaltimore Ravens
2010Madieu WilliamsSafetyMinnesota Vikings
2009Brian WatersGuardKansas City Chiefs
2008Kurt WarnerQuarterbackArizona Cardinals
2007Jason TaylorDefensive endMiami Dolphins
2006Drew BreesQuarterbackNew Orleans Saints
2006LaDainian TomlinsonRunning backSan Diego Chargers
2005Peyton ManningQuarterbackIndianapolis Colts
2004Warrick DunnRunning backAtlanta Falcons
2003Will ShieldsGuardKansas City Chiefs
2002Troy VincentCornerbackPhiladelphia Eagles
2001Jerome BettisRunning backPittsburgh Steelers
2000Derrick BrooksLinebackerTampa Bay Buccaneers
2000Jim FlaniganDefensive LineChicago Bears
1999Cris CarterWide receiverMinnesota Vikings
1998Dan MarinoQuarterbackMiami Dolphins
1997Troy AikmanQuarterbackDallas Cowboys
1996Darrell GreenCornerbackWashington Redskins
1995Boomer EsiasonQuarterbackNew York Jets
1994Junior SeauLinebackerSan Diego Chargers
1993Derrick ThomasLinebackerKansas City Chiefs
1992John ElwayQuarterbackDenver Broncos
1991Anthony MuñozTackleCincinnati Bengals
1990Mike SingletaryLinebackerChicago Bears
1989Warren MoonQuarterbackHouston Oilers
1988Steve LargentWide receiverSeattle Seahawks
1987Dave DuersonSafetyChicago Bears
1986Reggie WilliamsLinebackerCincinnati Bengals
1985Dwight StephensonCenterMiami Dolphins
1984Marty LyonsDefensive tackleNew York Jets
1983Rolf BenirschkePlacekickerSan Diego Chargers
1982Joe TheismannQuarterbackWashington Redskins
1981Lynn SwannWide receiverPittsburgh Steelers
1980Harold CarmichaelWide receiverPhiladelphia Eagles
1979Joe GreeneDefensive linemanPittsburgh Steelers
1978Roger StaubachQuarterbackDallas Cowboys
1977Walter PaytonRunning backChicago Bears
1976Franco HarrisRunning backPittsburgh Steelers
1975Ken AndersonQuarterbackCincinnati Bengals
1974George BlandaQuarterbackOakland Raiders
1973Len DawsonQuarterbackKansas City Chiefs
1972Willie LanierLinebackerKansas City Chiefs
1971John HadlQuarterbackSan Diego Chargers
1970Johnny UnitasQuarterbackBaltimore Colts
Back to top button