World Championship Basketball

See a complete list of World Championship Basketball Champions. The 2018 World Basketball Champions is Spain.

Fast Facts:

  • The championship has been held every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1950, except for two occasions.
  • The current format of the tournament involves 24 teams competing for the title at venues within the host nation.
  • The winning team receives the Naismith Trophy, first awarded in 1967.

World Championship Basketball title holders:

YearHost (final location)GoldScoreSilver
2014Spain (Madrid)USA129–92Serbia
2010Turkey (Istanbul)USA81–64Turkey
2006Japan (Saitama)Spain70–47Greece
2002USA (Indianapolis)Yugoslavia84–77Soviet Union
1998Greece (Athens)USA64–62USA
1994Canada (Toronto and Hamilton)USA137–91Russia
1990Argentina (Buenos Aires)Yugoslavia92–75Soviet Union
1986Spain (Madrid)USA87–85Soviet Union
1982Colombia (Cali)Soviet Union95–94USA
1978Philippines (Manila)Soviet Union82–81Yugoslavia
1974Puerto Rico (San Juan)Soviet Union82-79Yugoslavia
1970Yugoslavia (Ljubljana)Yugoslavia80-55Brazil
1967Uruguay (Montevideo)Soviet Union71-59Yugoslavia
1963Brazil (Rio de Janeiro)Brazil90-71Yugoslavia
1959Chile (Santiago)Brazil81-67USA
1954Brazil (Rio de Janeiro)USA62-41Brazil
1950Argentina (Buenos Aires)Argentina64-50USA
Back to top button