NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Champions

See a complete list of NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Champions. The 2024 Championship game was played by the UConn Huskies and the Purdue Boilermakers. The Huskies won 75–60 to win their 6th national title.

Fast Facts:

  • Coach John Wooden won his 10 national titles which is the most of any other coach.
  • UCLA has the most NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball titles with 11, while Kentucky has 8, North Carolina and UConn have 6.
  • The NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championship tournament begins with 68 college basketball teams.
  • The teams are divided into four regions and are organized into a single elimination “bracket”, which determines which teams will face each other in the tournament.
  • Each year in March, which is widely known as “March Madness”, the teams play through the rounds to get to the “Sweet Sixteen” (16 teams left in the competition), the “Final Four” (4 teams left in the competition) ending with the Championship game that decides who will be crowned the top tier college basketball team in the country.

NCAA Men’s Basketball Division I Champions:

2024UConn75–60PurdueGlendale, Arizona
2023UConn76–69San Diego StateHouston, Texas
2022Kansas72–69North CarolinaNew Orleans, Louisiana
2021Baylor86–70GonzagaIndianapolis, Indiana
2019Virginia85–77Texas TechMinneapolis, Minnesota
2018Villanova79–62MichiganSan Antonio, Texas
2017North Carolina71-65GonzagaGlendale, Arizona
2016Villanova77-74North CarolinaHouston, Texas
2015Duke68-63WisconsinIndianapolis, Ind.
2014Connecticut60-54KentuckyArlington, Texas
2013Louisville82-76MichiganAtlanta, Ga.
2012Kentucky67-59KansasNew Orleans, La.
2011Connecticut53-41ButlerHouston, Texas
2010Duke61-59ButlerIndianapolis, Ind.
2009North Carolina89-72Michigan StateDetroit, Mich.
2008Kansas75-68 (OT)MemphisSan Antonio, Texas
2007Florida84-75Ohio StateAtlanta, Ga.
2006Florida73-57UCLAIndianapolis, Ind.
2005North Carolina75-70IllinoisSt. Louis, Mo.
2004Connecticut82-73Georgia TechSan Antonio, Texas
2003Syracuse81-78KansasNew Orleans, La.
2002Maryland64-52IndianaAtlanta, Ga.
2001Duke82-72ArizonaMinneapolis, Minn.
2000Michigan State89-76FloridaIndianapolis, Ind.
1999Connecticut77-74DukeSt. Petersburg, Fla.
1998Kentucky78-69UtahSan Antonio, Texas
1997Arizona84-79 (OT)KentuckyIndianapolis, Ind.
1996Kentucky76-67SyracuseEast Rutherford, N.J.
1995UCLA89-78ArkansasSeattle, Wash.
1994Arkansas76-72DukeCharlotte, N.C.
1993North Carolina77-71MichiganNew Orleans, La.
1992Duke71-51MichiganMinneapolis, Minn.
1991Duke72-65KansasIndianapolis, Ind.
1990UNLV103-73DukeDenver, Colo.
1989Michigan80-79 (OT)Seton HallSeattle, Wash.
1988Kansas83-79OklahomaKansas City, Mo.
1987Indiana74-73SyracuseNew Orleans, La.
1986Louisville72-69DukeDallas, Texas
1985Villanova66-64GeorgetownLexington, Ky,
1984Georgetown84-75HoustonSeattle, Wash.
1983North Carolina State54-52HoustonAlbuquerque, N.M.
1982North Carolina63-62GeorgetownNew Orleans, La.
1981Indiana63-50North CarolinaPhiladelphia, Pa.
1980Louisville59-54UCLAIndianapolis, Ind.
1979Michigan State75-64Indiana StateSalt Lake City, Utah
1978Kentucky94-88DukeSt. Louis, Mo.
1977Marquette67-59North CarolinaAtlanta, Ga.
1976Indiana86-68MichiganPhiladelphia, Pa.
1975UCLA92-85KentuckySan Diego, Calif.
1974North Carolina State76-64MarquetteGreensboro, N.C.
1973UCLA87-66Memphis StateSt. Louis, Mo.
1972UCLA81-76Florida StateLos Angeles, Calif.
1971UCLA68-62VillanovaHouston, Texas
1970UCLA80-69JacksonvilleCollege Park, Md.
1969UCLA92-72PurdueLouisville, Ky.
1968UCLA78-55North CarolinaLos Angeles, Calif.
1967UCLA79-64DaytonLouisville, Ky.
1966UTEP72-65KentuckyCollege Park, Md.
1965UCLA91-80MichiganPortland, Ore.
1964UCLA98-83DukeKansas City, Mo.
1963Loyola60-58 (OT)CincinnatiLouisville, Ky.
1962Cincinnati71-59Ohio StateLouisville, Ky.
1961Cincinnati70-65 (OT)Ohio StateKansas City, Mo.
1960Ohio State75-55CaliforniaDaly City, Calif.
1959California71-70West VirginiaLouisville, Ky.
1958Kentucky84-72SeattleLouisville, Ky.
1957North Carolina54-53 (3OT)KansasKansas City, Mo.
1956San Francisco83-71IowaEvanston, Ill.
1955San Francisco77-63LaSalleKansas City, Mo.
1954La Salle92-76BradleyKansas City, Mo.
1953Indiana69-68KansasKansas City, Mo.
1952Kansas80-63St. John’sSeattle, Wash.
1951Kentucky68-58Kansas StateMinneapolis, Minn.
1950CCNY71-68BradleyNew York, N.Y.
1949Kentucky46-36Oklahoma A&MSeattle, Wash.
1948Kentucky58-42BaylorNew York, N.Y.
1947Holy Cross58-47OklahomaNew York, N.Y.
1946Oklahoma State43-40North CarolinaNew York, N.Y.
1945Oklahoma State49-45NYUNew York, N.Y.
1944Utah42-40 (OT)DartmouthNew York, N.Y.
1943Wyoming46-34GeorgetownNew York, N.Y.
1942Stanford53-38DartmouthKansas City, Mo.
1941Wisconsin39-34Washington StateKansas City, Mo.
1940Indiana60-42KansasKansas City, Mo.
1939Oregon46-33Ohio StateEvanston, Ill.
Back to top button