Home / Home / Champions List / Canadian Grand Prix Champions

Canadian Grand Prix Champions


See a complete list of Canadian Grand Prix Champions. The 2017 Canadian Grand Prix Championship was won by Lewis Hamilton driving in Mercedes.

Fast Facts:

  • The Canadian Grand Prix (known in French as the Grand Prix du Canada), is an annual auto race held in Canada since 1961.
  • The Canadian Grand Prix has been a part of the Formula One World Championship since 1967.
  • Michael Schumacher of Germany has won seven Grand Prix titles making him the driver with the most wins.
  • In 2005, the Canadian Grand Prix was the most watched Formula One GP in the world. The race was also the third most watched sporting event worldwide.

Canadian Grand Prix Champions:

Year Driver’s Country Driver Constructor
2017 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2016 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2015 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2014 Australia Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault
2013 Germany Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault
2012 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
2011 United Kingdom Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
2010 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
2009 Not Held
2008 Poland Robert Kubica BMW Sauber
2007 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
2006 Spain Fernando Alonso Renault
2005 Finland Kimi Räikkönen McLaren-Mercedes
2004 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2003 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2002 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2001 Germany Ralf Schumacher Williams-BMW
2000 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1999 Finland Mika Häkkinen McLaren-Mercedes
1998 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1997 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1996 United Kingdom Damon Hill Williams-Renault
1995 France Jean Alesi Ferrari
1994 Germany Michael Schumacher Benetton-Ford
1993 France Alain Prost Williams-Renault
1992 Austria Gerhard Berger McLaren-Honda
1991 Brazil Nelson Piquet Benetton-Ford
1990 Brazil Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda
1989 Belgium Thierry Boutsen Williams-Renault
1988 Brazil Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda
1987 Not Held
1986 United Kingdom Nigel Mansell Williams-Honda
1985 Italy Michele Alboreto Ferrari
1984 Brazil Nelson Piquet Brabham-BMW
1983 France René Arnoux Ferrari
1982 Brazil Nelson Piquet Brabham-BMW
1981 France Jacques Laffite Ligier-Matra
1980 Australia Alan Jones Williams-Ford
1979 Australia Alan Jones Williams-Ford
1978 Canada Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari
1977 South Jody Scheckter Wolf-Ford
1976 United Kingdom James Hunt McLaren-Ford
1975 Not Held
1974 Brazil Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren-Ford
1973 United Peter Revson McLaren-Ford
1972 United Kingdom Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Ford
1971 United Kingdom Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Ford
1970 Belgium Jacky Ickx Ferrari
1969 Belgium Jacky Ickx Brabham-Ford
1968 New Zealand Denny Hulme McLaren-Ford
1967 Australia Jack Brabham Brabham-Repco
1966 United States Mark Donohue Lola-Chevrolet
1965 United States Jim Hall Chaparral-Chevrolet
1964 Mexico Pedro Rodríguez Ferrari
1963 Mexico Pedro Rodríguez Ferrari
1962 United States Masten Gregory Lotus-Climax
1961 Canada Peter Ryan Lotus-Climax