Home / Home / Champions List / IIHF World U20 Mens Champions – Junior Hockey Champions

IIHF World U20 Mens Champions – Junior Hockey Champions


See a complete list of IIHF World U20 Mens Champions. The 2017 IIHF World U20 Mens Hockey Champions is team USA. They beat Canada in an overtime shootout 5-4 to win their fourth Championship title.

Fast Facts:

  • The 2018 tournament will take place in Buffalo,New York.
  • The Canadian’s are the most successful team at the IIHF World Junior Hockey Championships with 16 Gold medals under their belt.
  • The IIHF World U20 Hockey Championships, commonly referred to as the World Junior Ice Hockey Championships takes place every year usually starting in the month of December.

IIHF World U20 Hockey Champions:

Year Gold Silver Bronze Venue
2017 United States Canada Russia Canada
2016 Finland Russia USA Sweden
2015 Canada Russia Slovakia Canada
2014 Finland Sweden Russia Sweden
2013 USA Sweden Russia Russia
2012 Sweden Russia Canada Calgary/Edmonton
2011 Russia Canada United States Buffalo/Niagara
2010 USA Canada Sweden Saskatoon/Regina
2009 Canada Sweden Russia Ottawa
2008 Canada Sweden Russia Pardubice/Liberec
2007 Canada Russia USA Leksand/Mora
2006 Canada Russia Finland Vancouver/Kelowna/Kamloops
2005 Canada Russia Czech Republic Grand Forks/Thief River Falls
2004 USA Canada Finland Helsinki/Hameenlinna
2003 Russia Canada Finland Halifax/Sydney
2002 Russia Canada Finland Pardubice/Hradec Kralove
2001 Czech Republic Finland Canada Moscow/Podolsk
2000 Czech Republic Russia Canada Skelleftea/Umea
1999 Russia Canada Slovakia Winnipeg
1998 Finland Russia Switzerland Helsinki/Hameenlinna
1997 Canada USA Russia Geneva/Morges
1996 Canada Sweden Russia Boston
1995 Canada Russia Sweden Alberta
1994 Canada Sweden Russia Ostrava/Frydek.Mistek
1993 Canada Sweden Czechoslovakia Gavle
1992 Soviet Union Sweden USA Fussen/Kaufbeuren
1991 Canada Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Saskatoon
1990 Canada Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Helsinki/Turku
1989 Soviet Union Sweden Czechoslovakia Anchorage
1988 Canada Soviet Union Finland Moscow
1987 Finland Czechoslovakia Sweden Piestany
1986 Soviet Union Canada USA Hamilton
1985 Canada Czechoslovakia Soviet Union Helsinki/Turku
1984 Soviet Union Finland Czechoslovakia Norrkoping/Nykoping
1983 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Canada Leningrad
1982 Canada Czechoslovakia Finland Minnesota
1981 Sweden Finland Soviet Union Fussen
1980 Soviet Union Finland Sweden Helsinki
1979 Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Sweden Karlstad
1978 Soviet Union Sweden Canada Montreal
1977 Soviet Union Canada Czechoslovakia B. Bystrica/Zvolen